Krusell, Devil Men Capture Second at CC Championships

Krusell, Devil Men Capture Second at CC Championships
Brian Krusell earned First-team All-Conference honors, placing second and leading the Devils to second in the team standings
Photo by James Rasp



(Elkridge, Md.) - The Dickinson College men's cross country team ran to a second place finish at the 2010 Centennial Conference Cross Country Championships on Saturday. Haverford captured the team title, scoring 23 points to hold off the Red Devils with 39.


The 'Fords had seven runners finish in the top 10 while Dickinson seniors Brian Krusell (Newington, Conn./Newington) and Kent Pecora (Chapel Hill, N.C./Chapel Hill) captured the second and third spots with times of 24:47 and 24:55, respectively. They both earned First-team All-Centennial Conference honors, finishing in the top seven.


Dylan Straughan (Bethesda, Md./Bethesda-Chevy Chase) and first-year Henry Mynatt (Lake Forest, Ill./Lake Forest) placed eighth and 13th to earn Second-team All-Conference. They clocked times of 25:03 and 25:24, respectively.


Senior Michael Tarkoff (Warrington, Pa./Central Bucks South) placed 18th with a time of 25:44, Omar Hyjek (Sewickley, Pa./Quaker Valley) came in 24th (26:03), and Ryan Steinbock (Pittsburgh, Pa./Chartiers Valley) and Dave Breen (Bolton, Mass./Nashoba Regional) placed 30th and 31st, with times of 26:18 and 26:19.


The Red Devils have finished in the top three in the conference since 1998, and in the top two in all but two years during that time. They will next compete at the NCAA Mideast Regional Championships in Slippery Rock on November 13th.